Texas Gun Experience offers amazing training options for firearm enthusiasts of all skill levels.
uscca certified training
With expert-led training you can easily access at home, or apply to live-fire drills on the range, you’ll be able to build a foundation for success and be ready when it counts most. USCCA Members are trained to first rely on non-lethal de-escalation tactics, and to only use their gun as an absolute last resort.
Discover a new passion
Rifle & Carbine Training
Ladies Only Training
One on One Training
Here Is What They Are Saying About Training
To make things simple we listed recommended steps below to make sure you complete the state requirements.
1. TAKE CLASSROOM PORTION
4 hour min – 6 hour course max: This section covers things such as Texas law regarding firearms, safe storage, & situational awareness. At the end of the class, you will be required to pass a written examination.
2. COMPLETE THE SHOOTING PROFICIENCY
Average 1 hour: 20 rounds at 3 yards, 20 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 15 yards.
- Experienced Shooters – May take steps 1 & 2 on the same day
- New Shooters – You can do step 1
It is NOT recommended that you attempt both class time and shooting on the same day if you are not already proficient with a firearm.
4. SUBMIT FINGERPRINTS
Fingerprints are submitted to the state via IdentoGo. (everyone must complete this step). IdentoGo Locations.
Your Texas DPS application MUST BE COMPLETE prior to making your fingerprint appointment.
5. SUBMIT YOUR TEXAS LTC 100 DOCUMENT
This document is provided by your instructor and shows you completed your classroom time and your shooting proficiency. Upload your document by clicking the following the link: https://www.dps.texas.gov
ALREADY SUBMITTED APPLICATION?
If you are already a handgun license applicant prior to taking an LTC class or shooting proficiency your form may still be valid. Contact us for any questions or to schedule your time.
REASONS YOU MAY BE DISQUALIFIED:
- If you are a felon
- If you are a fugitive from the law
- If you are chemically dependent
- If you have a psychiatric disorder
- If you have class A or B misdemeanors
- If you may have Child support debt
Texas Gun Experience employees cannot provide legal advice on Texas license to carry disqualifying factors.
Should you have questions on these disqualifiers it is recommended that you consult an attorney.
Once your completed application and other supporting documents are submitted, the State of Texas has up to 8 weeks from the time they receive ALL DOCUMENTS to process your License to Carry. If it has been over 8 weeks, you can make an online inquiry by clicking here: https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/ and selecting “Returning User”.
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN TEXAS CHL AND LTC?
In the United States, CHL stands for "concealed handgun license," and LTC stands for "license to carry." Most states have varying laws in regards to carrying guns. In the states that allow a carrying permit, license to carry and concealed handgun licenses are two different entities, requiring different application, requirements, and tests. However, in Texas, the CHL and LTC are the same. So, if you receive a LTC, then you are allowed to conceal carry.
WHAT STATES DO NOT RECOGNIZE TEXAS LTC?
Are you a Texas license holder wondering what states recognize your LTC? You don't want to drive over state lines, get pulled over, and not have your license honored. While a number of states do honor your LTC, the states not honoring reciprocity are: California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Washington. There are also a number of states who honor reciprocity but with restrictions. Make sure to abide by the state's rules when you travel.
HOW OFTEN DO YOU NEED A LICENSE RENEWAL FOR A TEXAS LTC?
Texas LTC Licenses are valid for four years. After expiration, renewal applicants must use a renewal application form, and the fee schedule is the same as the original application. Renewal applications can also be used for a change in address, reporting a stolen license, checking the status of an application, and to add/remove an At-Risk status. The renewal application can be found at this link:
Yes, some advanced classes will require that you have prior education. You should be able to see a list of prerequisites in the description of each class. If you have prior training before coming to us and would like to get into an advanced class or a maintenance program, simply email [email protected] to discuss your skillset with our Training Manager.
Yes, we can customize your training. Whether it is onsite or at your facility, email us at [email protected].
We encourage everyone to feel comfortable when shooting. Let one of our range check-in personnel know when you arrive so we can have a Range Safety Officer help you or check out our training offering online.
Yes, gain access to training others at our facility by emailing [email protected]